SMITH A O CORP

(AOS)

CIK 91142 · SEC filings only

Not gradedDividend record
shown as history
company entity
44 dividend record entries

Dividend record — shown as history, not graded

A declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise we grade. Here's the record — raises, holds, and cuts — each linked to its source filing.

Dividend record

44 declarations · 11 raised · 30 held · 1 cut · held 19 quarters

  1. RAISED$0.2600/shperiod ended 2020-12-31Filing ↗
  2. HELD$0.2400/shperiod ended 2020-09-30Filing ↗
  3. HELD$0.2400/shperiod ended 2020-06-30Filing ↗
  4. HELD$0.2400/shperiod ended 2020-03-31Filing ↗
  5. RAISED$0.2400/shperiod ended 2019-12-31Filing ↗
  6. HELD$0.2200/shperiod ended 2019-09-30Filing ↗
  7. HELD$0.2200/shperiod ended 2019-06-30Filing ↗
  8. HELD$0.2200/shperiod ended 2019-03-31Filing ↗
  9. RAISED$0.2200/shperiod ended 2018-12-31Filing ↗
  10. HELD$0.1800/shperiod ended 2018-09-30Filing ↗
  11. HELD$0.1800/shperiod ended 2018-06-30Filing ↗
  12. RAISED$0.1800/shperiod ended 2018-03-31Filing ↗
Descriptive dividend record — every entry links to its source filing. Not graded (a declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise). Full methodology →
Not yet gradedBuyback record
harness minimum not met
company entity
0 resolved promises

Sector median (Manufacturing): B across 8 graded companies

Not enough resolved promises to grade

0 of the 4 resolved buyback promises needed to publish a reliability grade. Here's what we're tracking — we never show a grade we can't back with receipts.

Pro

buyback history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved buyback promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Open promises (2)

Open · buyback authorization

resulting in current authority to repurchase approximately 2.5 million shares

unresolved — no outcome on file$2500000.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

expect to repurchase $300 million of our shares

unresolved — no outcome on file$300.0Mreceipt (opens in a new tab)
0 resolved buyback promises · resolver resolver-v3 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →
D+Guidance record
grade
company entity
6 resolved promises

Sector median (Manufacturing): A across 27 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

15 of 21 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (71%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · basis not stated13409
EPS · GAAP4202
EPS · non-GAAPcannot be graded10073
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded180810

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (32)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. eps guidance fy · Oct 27, 2023
    expected adjusted earnings per share range of $3.70 to $3.80 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  2. eps guidance fy · Jul 30, 2020
    we are providing full year 2020 earnings guidance of $1.69 to $1.83 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. eps guidance fy · Jul 30, 2020
    adjusted earnings guidance of $1.72 to $1.86 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  4. eps guidance fy · Jan 28, 2020
    We forecast 2020 earnings will be between $2.40 and $2.50 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  5. eps guidance fy · Oct 29, 2019
    we revised our 2019 EPS guidance to a range of between $2.25 and $2.28 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  6. eps guidance fy · Jul 30, 2019
    we have revised our full year guidance to $2.35 to $2.41 earnings per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  7. eps guidance fy · Jan 29, 2019
    We believe 2019 earnings will be between $2.67 and $2.77 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  8. eps guidance fy · Oct 30, 2018
    now expect full-year 2018 adjusted earnings per share to be between $2.57 and $2.60 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  9. eps guidance fy · Apr 25, 2018
    increase our adjusted 2018 earnings guidance to a range of $2.55 to $2.61 per share.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  10. eps guidance fy · Oct 25, 2017
    now expect full-year 2017 earnings per share to be between $2.12 and $2.14
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  11. eps guidance fy · Apr 27, 2017
    we now anticipate our 2017 earnings to be between $2.03 and $2.09 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  12. eps guidance fy · Oct 26, 2016
    We believe A. O. Smith Corporation will achieve full-year earnings of between $1.81 and $1.83 per share.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  13. eps guidance fy · Apr 27, 2016
    now expect full-year 2016 earnings per share to be between $3.47 and $3.55
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  14. revenue guidance fy · Jul 23, 2015
    We estimate our organic worldwide revenue growth will be over 11 percent in 2015
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  15. eps guidance fy · Jul 23, 2015
    We believe A. O. Smith Corporation will achieve full-year earnings of between $3.04 and $3.09 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  16. eps guidance fy · Jan 27, 2015
    2015 earnings to be between a range of $2.65 to $2.80 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  17. eps guidance fy · Jul 22, 2014
    we upgraded our 2015 earnings outlook to $2.60 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  18. revenue guidance fy · Jul 22, 2014
    implies organic growth of seven to nine percent per year
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  19. eps guidance fy · Jul 22, 2014
    achieve full-year adjusted earnings of between $2.34 and $2.40 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  20. eps guidance fy · Jan 28, 2014
    our adjusted earnings aspiration for our existing portfolio of businesses is now $2.50 per share by 2015
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  21. eps guidance fy · Jan 28, 2014
    adjusted earnings of between $2.15 and $2.30 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  22. revenue guidance fy · Jan 28, 2014
    Our aspiration for organic sales for the total company is over $2.5 billion by 2015
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  23. eps guidance fy · Jul 24, 2013
    with adjusted earnings of between $1.84 and $1.90 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  24. eps guidance fy · Apr 23, 2013
    we now believe we will achieve adjusted earnings of between $3.40 and $3.56 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  25. eps guidance fy · Oct 17, 2012
    we are raising our earnings guidance for the full year to between $2.85 and $2.95 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  26. revenue guidance fy · Apr 20, 2012
    We project growth in 2012 to be in excess of 10 percent over their historical performance
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  27. eps guidance fy · Apr 20, 2012
    we have increased our estimate for 2012 earnings to a range of $2.75 to $2.90 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  28. eps guidance fy · Oct 21, 2011
    now expect earnings to be between $2.00 and $2.10 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  29. eps guidance fy · Apr 19, 2011
    we are not changing our forecast of earnings from continuing operations of between $1.90 and $2.10 per share for this year
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  30. eps guidance fy · Oct 19, 2010
    we are raising our 2010 full-year earnings estimate to between $3.25 to $3.35 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  31. eps guidance fy · Jul 20, 2010
    Our 2010 full-year earnings estimate, including the one-time charge for the flood, is a range of $3.05 to $3.25 per share.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  32. eps guidance fy · Jan 26, 2010
    we expect earnings per share will range from $2.95 to $3.25 in 2010
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗

Open promises (3) · 4 superseded

Open · revenue guidance fy

we expect 2015 sales to increase approximately 10 percent from 2014

unresolved — no outcome on file$10.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

we expect to achieve strong annual sales growth

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

project our global sales will grow between 11 and 12 percent this year

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

we will grow revenues between nine and 10 percent

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

We expect organic growth, supported by stable water heater replacement demand, will result in sales growth for the year between 10 and 10.75 percent.

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · eps guidance fy

We believe A. O. Smith Corporation will achieve full-year GAAP earnings of between $3.00 and $3.16 per share

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · eps guidance fy

we expect A. O. Smith Corporation to achieve full-year GAAP earnings of between $2.01 and $2.16 per share

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

ABOVE · Feb 20, 2014ABOVE · Feb 18, 2015IN LINE · Feb 15, 2019BELOW · Feb 24, 2020BELOW · Feb 12, 2021IN LINE · Feb 13, 2024
20142024
Timeline as a list
  • Feb 20, 2014ABOVEWe believe A. O. Smith Corporation will achieve full-year GAAP earnings of between $1.62 and $1.68 per share
  • Feb 18, 2015ABOVEWe believe A. O. Smith Corporation will achieve full-year GAAP earnings of between $2.20 and $2.26 per share
  • Feb 15, 2019IN LINEwe now expect 2018 total company sales growth of approximately seven percent compared with 2017
  • Feb 24, 2020BELOWwe expect total company full year sales will grow between one and 2.5 percent and between 2.5 to four percent in local currency terms
  • Feb 12, 2021BELOWwe expect total company full year sales in 2020 will grow between 4.5 and 5.5 percent
  • Feb 13, 2024IN LINEnarrowed our 2023 sales outlook to grow approximately 2% compared to 2022
6 resolved guidance promises · 32 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →