Promise-keeping streak3 kept in a rowguidance & buyback

American Express Company

(AXP)

CIK 4962 · SEC filings only

Not gradedDividend record
shown as history
company entity
67 dividend record entries

Dividend record — shown as history, not graded

A declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise we grade. Here's the record — raises, holds, and cuts — each linked to its source filing.

Dividend record

67 declarations · 13 raised · 53 held · 0 cut · held 66 quarters

  1. HELD$0.9500/shperiod ended 2026-06-30Filing ↗
  2. RAISED$0.9500/shperiod ended 2026-03-31Filing ↗
  3. HELD$0.8200/shperiod ended 2025-09-30Filing ↗
  4. HELD$0.8200/shperiod ended 2025-06-30Filing ↗
  5. RAISED$0.8200/shperiod ended 2025-03-31Filing ↗
  6. HELD$0.7000/shperiod ended 2024-09-30Filing ↗
  7. HELD$0.7000/shperiod ended 2024-06-30Filing ↗
  8. RAISED$0.7000/shperiod ended 2024-03-31Filing ↗
  9. HELD$0.6000/shperiod ended 2023-09-30Filing ↗
  10. HELD$0.6000/shperiod ended 2023-06-30Filing ↗
  11. RAISED$0.6000/shperiod ended 2023-03-31Filing ↗
  12. HELD$0.5200/shperiod ended 2022-09-30Filing ↗
Descriptive dividend record — every entry links to its source filing. Not graded (a declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise). Full methodology →
Not yet gradedBuyback record
harness minimum not met
company entity
3 resolved promises

Sector median (Finance): A+ across 6 graded companies

Not enough resolved promises to grade

3 of the 4 resolved buyback promises needed to publish a reliability grade. Here's what we're tracking — we never show a grade we can't back with receipts.

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved buyback promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Open promises (1)

Open · buyback authorization

cumulative Board authorizations to repurchase up to 770MM shares

unresolved — no outcome on file$770.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

KEPT · Feb 25, 2014KEPT · Jul 30, 2014KEPT · Jul 30, 2014
20142014
Timeline as a list
  • Feb 25, 2014KEPTchanges affecting the company’s ability or desire to repurchase up to $2.3 billion of its common shares in 2011
  • Jul 30, 2014KEPTan additional $1 billion in the first quarter of 2013
  • Jul 30, 2014KEPTWe are also moving ahead with plans to repurchase as much as $4 billion of outstanding shares this year
3 resolved buyback promises · resolver resolver-v3 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →
Not yet gradedGuidance record
harness minimum not met
company entity
0 resolved promises

Not enough comparable guidance to grade

0 of the 4 resolved guidance promises needed to publish a reliability grade. Some of this company’s guidance has no reported figure we can compare it with. It is shown below, never scored; the line under each statement says why. Here's what we're tracking — we never show a grade we can't back with receipts.

Pro

guidance history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

1 of 1 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (100%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · basis not stated3003
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded3012

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (4)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. eps guidance fy · Jan 19, 2017
    we expect EPS for 2017 to be between $5.60 and $5.80
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  2. eps guidance fy · Apr 28, 2010
    achieve EPS growth of 12% to 15%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. revenue guidance fy · Apr 28, 2010
    grow revenues at greater than 8%
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  4. eps guidance fy · Oct 24, 2005
    earnings per share growth of 12-15 percent
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗

Open promises (1) · 1 superseded

Open · revenue guidance fy

This target (of at least 8 percent growth on average and over time)

Superseded · revenue guidance fy

revenue growth of at least 8 percent

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
0 resolved guidance promises · 4 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →