Promise-keeping streak3 kept in a rowguidance & buyback

BEST BUY CO INC

(BBY)

CIK 764478 · SEC filings only

Not gradedDividend record
shown as history
company entity
55 dividend record entries

Dividend record — shown as history, not graded

A declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise we grade. Here's the record — raises, holds, and cuts — each linked to its source filing.

Dividend record

55 declarations · 15 raised · 35 held · 0 cut · held 50 quarters

  1. HELD$0.9600/shperiod ended 2026-08-01Filing ↗
  2. RAISED$0.9600/shperiod ended 2026-05-02Filing ↗
  3. HELD$0.9500/shperiod ended 2025-11-01Filing ↗
  4. HELD$0.9500/shperiod ended 2025-08-02Filing ↗
  5. RAISED$0.9500/shperiod ended 2025-05-03Filing ↗
  6. HELD$0.9400/shperiod ended 2024-11-02Filing ↗
  7. HELD$0.9400/shperiod ended 2024-08-03Filing ↗
  8. RAISED$0.9400/shperiod ended 2024-05-04Filing ↗
  9. HELD$0.9200/shperiod ended 2023-10-28Filing ↗
  10. HELD$0.9200/shperiod ended 2023-07-29Filing ↗
  11. RAISED$0.9200/shperiod ended 2023-04-29Filing ↗
  12. HELD$0.8800/shperiod ended 2022-10-29Filing ↗
Descriptive dividend record — every entry links to its source filing. Not graded (a declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise). Full methodology →
DBuyback record
grade
company entity
8 resolved promises

Sector median (Trade & Services): A+ across 14 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved buyback promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Open promises (3)

Open · buyback authorization

Best Buy does not plan to repurchase any of its shares in fiscal 2009

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

The company plans to spend between $750 million and $1.0 billion on share repurchases in FY21

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

we plan on resuming our share repurchase program during Q4 of this fiscal year

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

KEPT · Aug 31, 2021PARTIAL · Jun 2, 2023KEPT · Sep 1, 2023KEPT · Dec 1, 2023PARTIAL · Mar 15, 2024MISSED · Jun 7, 2024PARTIAL · Sep 6, 2024KEPT · Mar 19, 2025
20212025
Timeline as a list
  • Aug 31, 2021KEPTthe company announced the intent to spend between $750 million and $1 billion on share repurchases in FY20
  • Jun 2, 2023PARTIALthe company’s board of directors approved a new $5.0 billion share repurchase authorization
  • Sep 1, 2023KEPTShare repurchases of approximately $2.5 billion
  • Dec 1, 2023KEPTShare repurchases of more than $2.5 billion
  • Mar 15, 2024PARTIALShare repurchases of more than $2.5 billion
  • Jun 7, 2024MISSEDthe company’s board of directors approved a new $5.0 billion share repurchase authorization
  • Sep 6, 2024PARTIALShare repurchases of approximately $1.5 billion
  • Mar 19, 2025KEPTnow expect to spend approximately $1 billion in share repurchases this year
8 resolved buyback promises · resolver resolver-v3 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →
CGuidance record
grade
company entity
14 resolved promises

Sector median (Trade & Services): A+ across 26 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

11 of 25 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (44%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · basis not stated3113018
EPS · GAAP1100
EPS · non-GAAPcannot be graded230914
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded10028

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (36)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. eps guidance fy · May 29, 2025
    Adjusted diluted EPS 2 of $6.15 to $6.30
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  2. eps guidance fy · Mar 4, 2025
    Adjusted 1 diluted EPS 3 of $6.20 to $6.60
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. eps guidance fy · Nov 26, 2024
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $6.10 to $6.25
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  4. eps guidance fy · Aug 29, 2024
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $6.10 to $6.35
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  5. eps guidance fy · May 30, 2024
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $5.75 to $6.20
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  6. eps guidance fy · Feb 29, 2024
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $5.75 to $6.20
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  7. eps guidance fy · Nov 21, 2023
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $6.00 to $6.30
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  8. eps guidance fy · Aug 29, 2023
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $6.00 to $6.40
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  9. eps guidance fy · May 25, 2023
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $5.70 to $6.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  10. eps guidance fy · Mar 2, 2023
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $5.70 to $6.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  11. eps guidance fy · May 24, 2022
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $8.40 to $9.00
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  12. eps guidance fy · Mar 3, 2022
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS 2 of $8.85 to $9.15
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  13. revenue guidance q · May 27, 2021
    Enterprise comparable sales growth of approximately 17%
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  14. revenue guidance fy · May 27, 2021
    Enterprise comparable sales growth of 3% to 6%
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  15. revenue guidance fy · Feb 25, 2021
    our initial FY22 outlook for comparable sales growth in the range of (-2%) to +1%
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  16. eps guidance q · Feb 27, 2020
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS of $1.00 to $1.05
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  17. eps guidance fy · Feb 27, 2020
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS of $6.10 to $6.30
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  18. eps guidance q · Nov 26, 2019
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS of $2.65 to $2.75
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  19. eps guidance fy · Nov 26, 2019
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS of $5.81 to $5.91
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  20. eps guidance fy · May 23, 2019
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS of $5.45 to $5.65
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  21. eps guidance q · May 23, 2019
    Non-GAAP diluted EPS of $0.95 to $1.00
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  22. eps guidance fy · Jun 14, 2011
    adjusted net earnings per diluted share of $3.30 to $3.55
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  23. eps guidance fy · Jun 14, 2011
    annual net earnings per diluted share guidance of $3.28 to $3.53
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  24. eps guidance fy · Dec 14, 2010
    we now expect annual EPS in the range of $3.20 to $3.40
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  25. eps guidance fy · Jun 15, 2010
    The company also reiterated its fiscal 2011 outlook and annual diluted EPS guidance as provided on March 25, 2010
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  26. eps guidance fy · Dec 15, 2009
    Non-GAAP annual earnings per diluted share of $3.00 to $3.15
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  27. eps guidance fy · Jun 16, 2009
    we remain focused on delivering our annual earnings guidance of $2.50 to $2.90 per diluted share, excluding restructuring charges
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  28. eps guidance fy · Dec 16, 2008
    maintained its guidance range for fiscal 2009 of earnings per diluted share of $2.30 to $2.90, excluding the investment impairment charge
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  29. eps guidance fy · Jun 17, 2008
    remain on track to deliver $3.25 to $3.40 of diluted EPS for the year
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  30. eps guidance fy · Dec 18, 2007
    The company now estimates annual earnings per diluted share of $3.10 to $3.20.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  31. eps guidance fy · Sep 18, 2007
    Our current momentum and expectations for the second half of the year leads us to believe that our earnings will finish in the upper half of our new guidance range of $3.00 to $3.15 per diluted share.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  32. eps guidance fy · Apr 4, 2007
    expects fiscal 2008 earnings to be in the range of $3.10 to $3.25 per diluted share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  33. eps guidance fy · Sep 12, 2006
    we are reiterating our earnings guidance for fiscal 2007 of $2.65 to $2.80 per diluted share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  34. eps guidance fy · Mar 30, 2006
    expects fiscal 2007 earnings to be in the range of $2.65 to $2.80 per diluted share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  35. eps guidance q · Sep 3, 2004
    Company expects second-quarter EPS of 44-46 cents
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  36. eps guidance q · Sep 3, 2004
    earnings from continuing operations are expected to be in the range of 51 to 53 cents per diluted share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗

Open promises (4) · 11 superseded

Open · revenue guidance fy

forecasting total fiscal 2007 revenue of $34 billion to $35 billion

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

forecasting total fiscal 2008 revenue of approximately $39 billion

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

The company continues to expect $43 billion to $44 billion in revenue for the fiscal year

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

We continue to expect solid top-line growth

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue of $43.8 billion to $44.5 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue of $49.3 billion to $50.8 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue of $43.8 billion to $45.2 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue of $41.4 billion to $42.2 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue of $41.3 billion to $42.6 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue of $41.3 billion to $41.9 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue of $43.8 billion to $45.2 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue of $41.3 billion to $42.6 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Enterprise revenue of $51.0 billion to $52.0 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Enterprise revenue of $53.5 billion to $56.5 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Enterprise revenue of $42.9 billion to $43.9 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

ABOVE · Mar 23, 2020ABOVE · Mar 23, 2020WITHDRAWN · May 21, 2020BELOW · May 27, 2020WITHDRAWN · Nov 24, 2020ABOVE · Dec 3, 2021BELOW · Mar 18, 2022BELOW · Mar 18, 2022BELOW · Mar 17, 2023IN LINE · Mar 15, 2024ABOVE · Mar 19, 2025IN LINE · Mar 18, 2026
20202026
Timeline as a list
  • Mar 23, 2020ABOVEEnterprise revenue of $14.75 billion to $15.15 billion
  • Mar 23, 2020ABOVEEnterprise revenue of $43.2 billion to $43.6 billion
  • May 21, 2020WITHDRAWNwe suspended all FY21 financial guidance on March 21
  • May 27, 2020BELOWEnterprise revenue of $9.1 billion to $9.2 billion
  • Nov 24, 2020WITHDRAWNwe are not providing financial guidance today
  • Dec 3, 2021ABOVEEnterprise revenue of $11.4 billion to $11.6 billion
  • Mar 18, 2022BELOWRevenue of $51.8 billion to $52.3 billion
  • Mar 18, 2022BELOWRevenue of $16.4 billion to $16.9 billion
  • Mar 17, 2023BELOWRevenue of $48.3 billion to $49.9 billion
  • Mar 15, 2024IN LINERevenue of $43.1 billion to $43.7 billion
  • Mar 19, 2025ABOVERevenue of $41.1 billion to $41.5 billion
  • Mar 18, 2026IN LINERevenue of $41.1 billion to $41.9 billion
14 resolved guidance promises · 36 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →