Promise-keeping streak4 kept in a rowguidance & buyback

CIENA CORP

(CIEN)

CIK 936395 · SEC filings only

Not yet gradedBuyback record
harness minimum not met
company entity
1 resolved promise

Sector median (Manufacturing): B across 8 graded companies

Not enough resolved promises to grade

1 of the 4 resolved buyback promises needed to publish a reliability grade. Here's what we're tracking — we never show a grade we can't back with receipts.

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved buyback promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Open promises (3)

Open · buyback authorization

allows us to repurchase up to $300 million of Ciena common stock through the end of fiscal 2020

unresolved — no outcome on file$300.0Mreceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Ciena may purchase shares at management's discretion in the open market, in privately negotiated transactions, in transactions structured through investment banking institutions, or a combination of the foregoing

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

are currently targeting repurchases in the range of $150 million during fiscal 2021

unresolved — no outcome on file$150.0Mreceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

PARTIAL · Mar 7, 2024
20242024
Timeline as a list
  • Mar 7, 2024PARTIALCiena's Board of Directors authorized the repurchase of up to $1.0 billion of the Company's stock
1 resolved buyback promise · resolver resolver-v3 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →
A+Guidance record
grade
company entity
8 resolved promises

Sector median (Manufacturing): A across 27 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

0 of 8 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (0%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · basis not stated238015
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded1001

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (3)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. revenue guidance q · Feb 15, 2022
    revenue is now expected to be in the range of $840 to $850 million
    Not judged — this statement was filed after the period it is stored under had ended, so it is not guidance for that period.Filing ↗
  2. eps guidance fy · Dec 12, 2019
    driving sustained EPS growth in 2020
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. revenue guidance q · Dec 9, 2010
    we expect to deliver sequential revenue growth in our fiscal third quarter
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗

Open promises (7) · 6 superseded

Open · revenue guidance fy

we expect to continue to grow revenue faster than the market and take share

Open · revenue guidance q

we are positioned for accelerated revenue growth

Open · revenue guidance q

we expect our fiscal fourth quarter revenue will be roughly flat with our fiscal third quarter level

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

achieve the strong revenue growth we expect for the fiscal year

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

we expect to deliver outsized revenue growth in fiscal 2023

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance q

Revenue of $1.75B billion plus or minus $50 million

Open · revenue guidance fy

Raising revenue guidance for fiscal year 2026 to $6.42 billion plus or minus $50 million

Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue of $6.3 billion plus or minus $100 million

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance q

we believe will drive growth and market share gains going forward

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue in the range of $5.9 billion to $6.3 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance q

we will deliver our expected strong second half performance

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

we continue to expect to achieve our revenue guidance of 11% to 13% annual growth for fiscal 2022

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Revenue in the range of $5.7 billion to $6.1 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

IN LINE · Sep 8, 2010ABOVE · Mar 10, 2011IN LINE · Sep 8, 2011IN LINE · Mar 8, 2017ABOVE · Dec 12, 2025IN LINE · Mar 5, 2026ABOVE · Jun 4, 2026IN LINE · Sep 3, 2026
20102026
Timeline as a list
  • Sep 8, 2010IN LINEwe anticipate that our fiscal third quarter revenue will be in the range of $375 million to $400 million
  • Mar 10, 2011ABOVEWe expect fiscal first quarter 2011 revenue to be in the range of $410 million to $430 million
  • Sep 8, 2011IN LINEWe expect fiscal third quarter 2011 revenue to be in the range of $435 million to $455 million
  • Mar 8, 2017IN LINERevenue in the range of $615 million to $645 million
  • Dec 12, 2025ABOVERevenue in the range of $1.24 billion to $1.32 billion
  • Mar 5, 2026IN LINERevenue in the range of $1.35 billion to $1.43 billion
  • Jun 4, 2026ABOVERevenue in the range of $1.5 billion plus or minus $50 million
  • Sep 3, 2026IN LINERevenue of $1.625B billion plus or minus $50 million
8 resolved guidance promises · 3 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →