Promise-keeping streak11 kept in a rowguidance & buyback

DOLLAR GENERAL CORP

(DG)

CIK 29534 · SEC filings only

Not gradedDividend record
shown as history
company entity
11 dividend record entries

Dividend record — shown as history, not graded

A declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise we grade. Here's the record — raises, holds, and cuts — each linked to its source filing.

Dividend record

11 declarations · 2 raised · 7 held · 0 cut · held 9 quarters

  1. HELD$0.2600/shperiod ended 2017-12-05Filing ↗
  2. HELD$0.2600/shperiod ended 2017-08-30Filing ↗
  3. HELD$0.2600/shperiod ended 2017-05-31Filing ↗
  4. RAISED$0.2600/shperiod ended 2017-03-15Filing ↗
  5. HELD$0.2500/shperiod ended 2016-11-30Filing ↗
  6. HELD$0.2500/shperiod ended 2016-08-24Filing ↗
  7. HELD$0.2500/shperiod ended 2016-05-24Filing ↗
  8. RAISED$0.2500/shperiod ended 2016-03-08Filing ↗
  9. HELD$0.2200/shperiod ended 2015-12-02Filing ↗
  10. INITIATED$0.2200/shperiod ended 2015-08-26Filing ↗
  11. INITIATED$0.7525/shperiod ended 2009-10-02Filing ↗
Descriptive dividend record — every entry links to its source filing. Not graded (a declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise). Full methodology →
A+Buyback record
grade
company entity
4 resolved promises

Sector median (Trade & Services): A+ across 14 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved buyback promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Open promises (5)

Open · buyback authorization

the Company’s Board of Directors increased the authorization under the share repurchase program by $2.0 billion

unresolved — no outcome on file$2.00Breceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Share repurchases of approximately $2.2 billion

unresolved — no outcome on file$2.20Breceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Share repurchases of approximately $2.4 billion

unresolved — no outcome on file$2.40Breceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

the Company’s Board of Directors increased the authorization under the share repurchase program by $2.0 billion

unresolved — no outcome on file$2.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Share repurchases of approximately $500 million

unresolved — no outcome on file$500.0Mreceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

KEPT · Mar 23, 2018KEPT · Aug 26, 2021KEPT · Aug 25, 2022KEPT · Dec 1, 2022
20182022
Timeline as a list
  • Mar 23, 2018KEPTthe Company’s Board of Directors authorized an additional $1.0 billion for share repurchases, increasing the total authorization for future repurchases to $1.2 billion
  • Aug 26, 2021KEPTShare repurchases of approximately $1.0 billion
  • Aug 25, 2022KEPTThe total remaining authorization for future repurchases was $1.1 billion at the end of the first quarter of 2020
  • Dec 1, 2022KEPTincreased the authorization under the share repurchase program by $2.0 billion
4 resolved buyback promises · resolver resolver-v3 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →
A+Guidance record
grade
company entity
7 resolved promises

Sector median (Trade & Services): A+ across 26 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

11 of 18 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (61%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · basis not stated216015
EPS · GAAP2101
EPS · non-GAAPcannot be graded2020
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded230914

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (25)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. eps guidance fy · Mar 12, 2026
    Diluted EPS in the range of approximately $7.10 to $7.35
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  2. eps guidance fy · Dec 4, 2025
    Diluted EPS of approximately $6.30 to $6.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. eps guidance fy · Mar 13, 2025
    Diluted EPS in the range of approximately $5.10 to $5.80
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  4. eps guidance fy · Dec 5, 2024
    Diluted EPS in the range of approximately $5.50 to $5.90
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  5. eps guidance fy · May 30, 2024
    Diluted EPS in the range of approximately $6.80 to $7.55
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  6. eps guidance q · May 30, 2024
    Diluted EPS in the range of $1.70 to $1.85
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  7. eps guidance fy · Dec 7, 2023
    Diluted EPS in the range of approximately $7.10 to $7.60
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  8. eps guidance fy · Aug 31, 2023
    Diluted EPS in the range of approximately $7.10 to $8.30
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  9. eps guidance fy · Jun 1, 2023
    Diluted EPS in the range of an approximate 8% decline to flat
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  10. eps guidance fy · Mar 16, 2023
    Diluted EPS growth in the range of approximately 4% to 6%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  11. eps guidance fy · Feb 23, 2023
    Diluted earnings per share growth in the range of approximately 4% - 6%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  12. eps guidance fy · Dec 2, 2021
    Diluted EPS in the range of $9.90 to $10.20
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  13. eps guidance fy · Aug 26, 2021
    Diluted EPS in the range of $9.60 to $10.20
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  14. eps guidance fy · May 27, 2021
    Diluted EPS in the range of $9.50 to $10.20
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  15. eps guidance fy · Mar 18, 2021
    Diluted EPS in the range of $8.80 to $9.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  16. eps guidance fy · May 28, 2020
    While the Company expects it will exceed the fiscal 2020 net sales, same-store sales and diluted EPS guidance that was issued on March 12, 2020
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  17. eps guidance fy · May 30, 2019
    Diluted EPS in the range of $6.30 to $6.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  18. eps guidance fy · Aug 30, 2018
    The Company is reiterating its diluted EPS guidance of $5.95 to $6.15 for fiscal year 2018
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  19. eps guidance fy · May 31, 2018
    The Company expects fiscal year 2018 diluted EPS to be in the range of $5.95 to $6.15
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  20. eps guidance fy · Dec 1, 2016
    The Company now forecasts diluted EPS growth for fiscal 2016 to be at the low end of the Company’s long-term growth model range of 10 percent to 15 percent.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  21. eps guidance q · Dec 3, 2015
    Fiscal 2015 fourth quarter diluted EPS is expected to be in the range of $1.23 to $1.28
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  22. eps guidance fy · Dec 3, 2015
    For the fiscal year, diluted EPS is expected to be approximately $3.87 to $3.92
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  23. eps guidance fy · Dec 3, 2015
    adjusted diluted EPS is expected to be $3.88 to $3.93
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  24. eps guidance fy · Jun 2, 2015
    Diluted EPS for the fiscal year is expected to be approximately $3.85 to $3.95
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  25. eps guidance fy · Dec 4, 2014
    Adjusted diluted EPS for the fiscal year is expected to be in the middle of the Company’s previous full year guidance range of $3.45 to $3.55
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗

Open promises (5) · 11 superseded

Open · revenue guidance fy

For the 2014 fiscal year, the Company expects total sales to increase by approximately 8.0 percent over the 2013 fiscal year

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

The Company’s revised outlook for the 2015 fiscal year anticipates net sales to increase by approximately eight percent over the 2014 fiscal year

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

Fiscal 2017 net sales growth of approximately seven percent

unresolved — no outcome on file$7.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

While the Company expects it will exceed the fiscal 2020 net sales

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

Net sales growth in the range of approximately 3.7% to 4.2%

Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales growth in the range of approximately 3.4% to 4.4%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

the Company’s net sales are forecasted to increase by approximately five to seven percent

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

The Company expects net sales to increase approximately 9%

revised by a later guidance$9.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales growth of 0.5% to 1.5%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales growth in the range of approximately 5.5% to 6%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales growth in the range of approximately 3.5% to 5.0%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales growth in the range of approximately 6.0% to 6.7%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales in the range of a 2% decline to flat

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · eps guidance fy

GAAP diluted EPS is forecasted to remain consistent with the prior guidance range of $4.25 to $4.50

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales growth in the range of 1.3% to 3.3%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales in the range of a 1% decline to an increase of 1%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

ABOVE · Mar 23, 2018IN LINE · Mar 22, 2019ABOVE · Mar 19, 2020WITHDRAWN · May 28, 2020IN LINE · Mar 18, 2022IN LINE · Mar 25, 2024IN LINE · Mar 21, 2025ABOVE · Mar 20, 2026
20182026
Timeline as a list
  • Mar 23, 2018ABOVEThe Company has narrowed its fiscal 2017 GAAP diluted earnings per share to $4.37 to $4.47
  • Mar 22, 2019IN LINEthe Company now expects net sales growth to be in the range of 9% to 9.3%
  • Mar 19, 2020ABOVENet sales growth of approximately 7%
  • May 28, 2020WITHDRAWNthe Company is not able to forecast the extent of such upside for the reasons mentioned above and accordingly is withdrawing the guidance issued on March 12, 2020
  • Mar 18, 2022IN LINENet sales growth of approximately 1.0% to 1.5%
  • Mar 25, 2024IN LINENet sales growth in the range of 1.5% to 2.5%
  • Mar 21, 2025IN LINENet sales growth in the range of approximately 4.8% to 5.1%
  • Mar 20, 2026ABOVENet sales growth of approximately 4.7% to 4.9%
7 resolved guidance promises · 25 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →