ESSEX PROPERTY TRUST, INC.

(ESS)

CIK 920522 · SEC filings only

Not gradedDividend record
shown as history
company entity
40 dividend record entries

Dividend record — shown as history, not graded

A declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise we grade. Here's the record — raises, holds, and cuts — each linked to its source filing.

Dividend record

40 declarations · 9 raised · 11 held · 1 cut

  1. INITIATED$4.6200/shperiod ended 2023-06-30Filing ↗
  2. HELD$1.9500/shperiod ended 2019-09-30Filing ↗
  3. HELD$1.9500/shperiod ended 2019-06-30Filing ↗
  4. RAISED$1.9500/shperiod ended 2019-03-31Filing ↗
  5. NOTED$1.8600/shperiod ended 2018-09-30Filing ↗
  6. NOTED$3.7200/shperiod ended 2018-06-30Filing ↗
  7. RAISED$1.8600/shperiod ended 2018-03-31Filing ↗
  8. HELD$1.7500/shperiod ended 2017-12-31Filing ↗
  9. NOTED$1.7500/shperiod ended 2017-09-30Filing ↗
  10. NOTED$3.5000/shperiod ended 2017-06-30Filing ↗
  11. RAISED$1.7500/shperiod ended 2017-03-31Filing ↗
  12. HELD$1.6000/shperiod ended 2016-12-31Filing ↗
Descriptive dividend record — every entry links to its source filing. Not graded (a declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise). Full methodology →
Not yet gradedBuyback record
harness minimum not met
company entity
1 resolved promise

Not enough resolved promises to grade

1 of the 4 resolved buyback promises needed to publish a reliability grade. Here's what we're tracking — we never show a grade we can't back with receipts.

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved buyback promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Credibility timeline

MISSED · Feb 21, 2025
20252025
Timeline as a list
  • Feb 21, 2025MISSEDthe Board of Directors approved the replacement of the Company’s prior repurchase program with a new, $500.0 million stock repurchase plan.
1 resolved buyback promise · resolver resolver-v3 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →
Not yet gradedGuidance record
harness minimum not met
company entity
0 resolved promises

Sector median (Real Estate & Construction): A across 6 graded companies

Not enough comparable guidance to grade

0 of the 4 resolved guidance promises needed to publish a reliability grade. Some of this company’s guidance has no reported figure we can compare it with. It is shown below, never scored; the line under each statement says why. Here's what we're tracking — we never show a grade we can't back with receipts.

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

23 of 23 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (100%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · non-GAAPcannot be graded1001
Revenue · basis not stated2002
EPS · non-GAAPcannot be graded14095
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded2501411

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (42)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. revenue guidance fy · Apr 28, 2026
    1.70% to 3.10%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  2. eps guidance q · Apr 28, 2026
    $3.92 - $4.04
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. eps guidance q · Oct 29, 2025
    $3.93 - $4.03
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  4. eps guidance fy · Oct 29, 2025
    Raised full-year Net Income per diluted share guidance by $0.41 at the midpoint to a range of $10.53 to $10.63.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  5. eps guidance q · Jul 29, 2025
    $3.89 - $3.99
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  6. eps guidance fy · Jul 29, 2025
    $10.05 - $10.29
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  7. eps guidance q · Apr 29, 2025
    $3.90 - $4.02
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  8. eps guidance fy · Apr 29, 2025
    $9.19 - $9.69
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  9. eps guidance fy · Feb 4, 2025
    Core FFO
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  10. eps guidance q · Feb 4, 2025
    Q1 2025 Core FFO
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  11. eps guidance q · Apr 30, 2024
    $3.77 - $3.89
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  12. eps guidance fy · Apr 30, 2024
    $8.04 - $8.44
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  13. revenue guidance fy · Apr 30, 2024
    1.50% to 3.00%
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  14. eps guidance q · Oct 26, 2023
    $3.73 - $3.85
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  15. eps guidance fy · Oct 26, 2023
    Reaffirmed the midpoint of the full-year 2023 guidance ranges for Core FFO per diluted share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  16. revenue guidance fy · Oct 26, 2023
    4.2% to 4.6%
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  17. eps guidance q · Jul 27, 2023
    $3.69 - $3.81
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  18. eps guidance fy · Jul 27, 2023
    Increased full-year Net Income per diluted share guidance by $0.31 at the midpoint to a range of $6.74 to $6.98.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  19. eps guidance fy · Apr 27, 2023
    Increased full-year Net Income per diluted share guidance by $0.98 at the midpoint to a range of $6.36 to $6.74.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  20. eps guidance q · Apr 27, 2023
    $3.63 - $3.75
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  21. eps guidance fy · Apr 27, 2023
    Increased full-year Core FFO per diluted share guidance by $0.03 at the midpoint to a range of $14.59 to $14.97.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  22. eps guidance q · Feb 7, 2023
    Q1 2023 Core FFO
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  23. eps guidance fy · Feb 7, 2023
    Core FFO
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  24. eps guidance fy · Oct 26, 2022
    Revised the full-year Net Income per diluted share guidance range to $4.80 to $4.90.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  25. eps guidance fy · Oct 26, 2022
    Raised full-year Core FFO per diluted share guidance by $0.02 at the midpoint to a range of $14.42 to $14.52.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  26. eps guidance fy · Jul 26, 2022
    Increased full-year Core FFO per diluted share guidance by $0.29 at the midpoint to $14.45
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  27. eps guidance q · Apr 26, 2022
    For the second quarter of 2022, the Company has established a Core FFO guidance range per diluted share of $3.43 to $3.55.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  28. eps guidance fy · Apr 26, 2022
    Increased full-year Net Income per diluted share guidance by $0.11 at the midpoint to a range of $4.79 to $5.15.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  29. eps guidance fy · Feb 2, 2022
    2022 Core FFO Per Diluted Share Guidance
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  30. eps guidance q · Feb 2, 2022
    the Company has established a guidance range of Core FFO per diluted share of $3.24 to $3.36
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  31. eps guidance q · Oct 26, 2021
    Provided Net Income guidance range for the fourth quarter of 2021 of $0.99 to $1.09 per diluted share.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  32. eps guidance fy · Oct 26, 2021
    Raised full-year Core FFO per diluted share guidance by $0.11 at the midpoint, to $12.44
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  33. eps guidance fy · Oct 26, 2021
    Increased full-year Net Income per diluted share guidance range to $6.39 to $6.49.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  34. eps guidance fy · Jul 29, 2021
    Raised full-year Core FFO per diluted share guidance by $0.09 per share at the midpoint to a range of $12.21 to $12.45.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  35. eps guidance q · Jul 29, 2021
    Provided Net Income guidance range for the third quarter of 2021 of $0.85 to $0.97 per diluted share.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  36. eps guidance fy · Jul 29, 2021
    Increased full-year Net Income per diluted share guidance range to $5.42 to $5.66.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  37. eps guidance q · Jul 29, 2021
    Provided Core FFO guidance range for the third quarter of 2021 of $2.98 to $3.10 per diluted share.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  38. eps guidance q · Apr 27, 2021
    For the second quarter of 2021, the Company has established a Core FFO guidance range per diluted share of $2.84 to $3.00.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  39. eps guidance q · Feb 4, 2021
    guidance range of Core FFO per diluted share of $2.96 to $3.10
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  40. eps guidance q · Jul 24, 2019
    For the third quarter of 2019, the Company has established a range for Core FFO per diluted share of $3.26 to $3.36.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  41. eps guidance fy · Jul 24, 2019
    Increased full-year Net Income per diluted share guidance range to $5.84 to $6.02.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  42. eps guidance q · Jul 24, 2019
    Provided Net Income guidance range for the third quarter of $1.27 to $1.37 per diluted share.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗

Credibility timeline

WITHDRAWN · May 6, 2020
20202020
Timeline as a list
  • May 6, 2020WITHDRAWNwe have withdrawn our previously-provided guidance ranges for 2020
0 resolved guidance promises · 42 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →