Promise-keeping streak8 kept in a rowguidance & buyback

W.W. GRAINGER, INC.

(GWW)

CIK 277135 · SEC filings only

Not gradedDividend record
shown as history
company entity
5 dividend record entries

Dividend record — shown as history, not graded

A declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise we grade. Here's the record — raises, holds, and cuts — each linked to its source filing.

Dividend record

5 declarations · 3 raised · 0 held · 0 cut

  1. INITIATED$1.2200/shperiod ended 2016-01-27Filing ↗
  2. RAISED$2.0800/shperiod ended 2010-12-31Filing ↗
  3. RAISED$1.7800/shperiod ended 2009-12-31Filing ↗
  4. RAISED$1.5500/shperiod ended 2008-12-31Filing ↗
  5. INITIATED$1.3400/shperiod ended 2007-12-31Filing ↗
Descriptive dividend record — every entry links to its source filing. Not graded (a declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise). Full methodology →
A+Buyback record
grade
company entity
4 resolved promises

Sector median (Trade & Services): A+ across 14 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved buyback promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Open promises (8)

Open · buyback authorization

intends to restart its share repurchase program in the fourth quarter of 2020

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Share Buyback $600 - 800 million

unresolved — no outcome on file$800.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Refreshed repurchase authorization for up to 5 million shares of common stock

unresolved — no outcome on file$5.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Share Buyback $0.9 - $1.1 billion

Open · buyback authorization

Share Buyback $1.0 - $1.2 billion $1.1 - $1.2 billion

resolves in ~4 days$1.2000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Share Buyback $1.15 - $1.25 billion

resolves in ~96 days$1.2000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Share Buyback $1.15 - $1.25 billion

resolves in ~186 days$1.2000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

Share Buyback $0.95 - $1.05 billion

resolves in ~464 days$0.9500receipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

KEPT · Apr 30, 2021KEPT · Jul 27, 2023KEPT · May 1, 2025KEPT · May 7, 2026
20212026
Timeline as a list
  • Apr 30, 2021KEPTShare Buyback $450 to $600 million
  • Jul 27, 2023KEPTShare Buyback $600 - 700 million
  • May 1, 2025KEPTShare Buyback $550 - $700 million
  • May 7, 2026KEPTShare Buyback $0.9 - $1.1 billion
4 resolved buyback promises · resolver resolver-v3 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →
A+Guidance record
grade
company entity
4 resolved promises

Sector median (Trade & Services): A+ across 26 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

11 of 15 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (73%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · non-GAAPcannot be graded230419
Revenue · basis not stated12408
EPS · non-GAAPcannot be graded11047
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded5032

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (42)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. revenue guidance fy · May 8, 2026
    6.7% - 9.1%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  2. revenue guidance fy · May 8, 2026
    Sales growth 4.2% - 6.7%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. eps guidance fy · May 8, 2026
    $44.25 - $46.25
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  4. revenue guidance fy · May 8, 2026
    9.5% - 12.0%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  5. revenue guidance fy · Feb 3, 2026
    Net Sales $18.7 - $19.1 billion
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  6. eps guidance fy · Feb 3, 2026
    Diluted Earnings per Share $42.25 - $44.75
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  7. revenue guidance fy · Feb 3, 2026
    Sales growth 4.2% - 6.7%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  8. revenue guidance fy · Aug 1, 2025
    4.4% - 5.9%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  9. eps guidance fy · Aug 1, 2025
    $38.50 - $40.25
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  10. revenue guidance fy · Aug 1, 2025
    $17.9 - $18.2 billion
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  11. eps guidance fy · May 1, 2025
    Diluted Earnings per Share $39.00 - $41.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  12. revenue guidance fy · May 1, 2025
    Net Sales $17.6 - $18.1 billion
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  13. revenue guidance fy · May 1, 2025
    Sales growth 2.7% - 5.2%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  14. eps guidance fy · Jan 31, 2025
    Diluted Earnings per Share $39.00 - $41.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  15. revenue guidance fy · Jan 31, 2025
    Daily, constant currency sales growth 4.0% - 6.5%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  16. revenue guidance fy · Jan 31, 2025
    Net Sales $17.6 - $18.1 billion
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  17. revenue guidance fy · Jan 31, 2025
    Sales growth 2.7% - 5.2%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  18. eps guidance fy · Oct 31, 2024
    Diluted Earnings per Share $38.00 - $39.50 $38.65 - $39.35
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  19. revenue guidance fy · Oct 31, 2024
    Daily, organic constant currency sales growth 4.0% - 6.0% 4.5% - 5.25%
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  20. revenue guidance fy · Aug 1, 2024
    Sales Growth 4.3% - 7.3%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  21. revenue guidance fy · Aug 1, 2024
    Daily, organic constant currency sales growth 4.0% - 7.0%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  22. revenue guidance fy · Apr 25, 2024
    Sales Growth 4.3% - 7.3%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  23. revenue guidance fy · Apr 25, 2024
    Net Sales $17.2 - $17.7 billion
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  24. eps guidance fy · Apr 25, 2024
    Diluted Earnings per Share $38.00 - $40.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  25. revenue guidance fy · Feb 2, 2024
    Sales growth 4.3% - 7.3%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  26. eps guidance fy · Feb 2, 2024
    Diluted Earnings per Share $38.00 - $40.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  27. revenue guidance fy · Feb 2, 2024
    Daily, organic constant currency sales growth 4.0% - 7.0%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  28. revenue guidance fy · Apr 27, 2023
    Daily Sales Growth 7.0% - 11.0%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  29. revenue guidance fy · Feb 2, 2023
    Sales growth 6.6% - 10.6%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  30. revenue guidance fy · Feb 2, 2023
    Daily sales growth 7.0% - 11.0%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  31. eps guidance fy · Feb 2, 2023
    Diluted Earnings per Share $32.00 - $34.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  32. revenue guidance fy · Oct 28, 2022
    total Company daily sales growth of 15.5% to 16.5%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  33. eps guidance fy · Oct 28, 2022
    diluted EPS range of $29.10 to $29.70
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  34. eps guidance fy · Jul 29, 2022
    driving EPS range of $27.25 - $28.75
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  35. revenue guidance fy · Jul 29, 2022
    updated total Company daily sales growth of 14.5% - 16.5%
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  36. eps guidance fy · Feb 3, 2022
    Earnings per Share $23.50 - $25.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  37. eps guidance fy · Oct 29, 2021
    Earnings per Share (EPS) $19.00 - 20.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  38. eps guidance fy · Jul 30, 2021
    Earnings per Share (EPS) $19.00 - 20.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  39. revenue guidance fy · Jul 30, 2021
    Organic, daily growth 10.0 - 12.5%
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  40. eps guidance fy · Apr 30, 2021
    Earnings per Share $19.00 - 20.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  41. eps guidance fy · Jan 24, 2019
    Earnings per Share $17.10 to $18.70
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  42. revenue guidance fy · Jan 24, 2019
    Net Sales 4.0% to 8.5% growth
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗

Open promises (0) · 5 superseded

Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Sales Growth 3.2% - 5.2% 4.0% - 4.75%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net Sales $12.7 - 13.0 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net Sales $12.7 - 13.0 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Daily growth 8.5 - 11.0%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Daily growth 8.5 - 11.0%

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

ABOVE · Feb 23, 2022ABOVE · Feb 21, 2023IN LINE · Feb 20, 2025IN LINE · Feb 19, 2026
20222026
Timeline as a list
  • Feb 23, 2022ABOVENet Sales $12.7 - 13.0 billion
  • Feb 21, 2023ABOVENet Sales $14.1 - 14.5 billion
  • Feb 20, 2025IN LINENet Sales $17.0 - $17.3 billion $17.1 - $17.3 billion
  • Feb 19, 2026IN LINENet Sales $17.9 - $18.2 billion
4 resolved guidance promises · 42 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →