Promise-keeping streakTurned aroundguidance & buyback

3M CO

(MMM)

CIK 66740 · SEC filings only

Not gradedDividend record
shown as history
company entity
47 dividend record entries

Dividend record — shown as history, not graded

A declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise we grade. Here's the record — raises, holds, and cuts — each linked to its source filing.

Dividend record

47 declarations · 12 raised · 33 held · 0 cut · held 45 quarters

  1. HELD$0.7800/shperiod ended 2026-06-30Filing ↗
  2. RAISED$0.7800/shperiod ended 2026-03-31Filing ↗
  3. HELD$0.7300/shperiod ended 2025-09-30Filing ↗
  4. HELD$0.7300/shperiod ended 2025-06-30Filing ↗
  5. RAISED$0.7300/shperiod ended 2025-03-31Filing ↗
  6. HELD$0.7000/shperiod ended 2024-12-31Filing ↗
  7. HELD$0.7000/shperiod ended 2024-09-30Filing ↗
  8. NOTED$0.7000/shperiod ended 2024-06-30Filing ↗
  9. RAISED$1.5100/shperiod ended 2024-03-31Filing ↗
  10. HELD$1.5000/shperiod ended 2023-12-31Filing ↗
  11. HELD$1.5000/shperiod ended 2023-09-30Filing ↗
  12. HELD$1.5000/shperiod ended 2023-06-30Filing ↗
Descriptive dividend record — every entry links to its source filing. Not graded (a declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise). Full methodology →
FGuidance record
grade
company entity
5 resolved promises

Sector median (Industrial Applications and Services): B+ across 28 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

14 of 19 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (74%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · non-GAAPcannot be graded1010
Revenue · basis not stated192017
EPS · GAAP4301
EPS · non-GAAPcannot be graded4031
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded160106

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (36)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. eps guidance fy · Jul 27, 2021
    3M now forecasts earnings in the range of $9.70 to $10.10 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  2. eps guidance fy · Jan 26, 2021
    Earnings per share of $9.20 to $9.70
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. revenue guidance fy · Jan 28, 2020
    full-year organic local-currency growth in the range of flat to 2 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  4. eps guidance fy · Jan 28, 2020
    earnings expected to be in the range of $9.30 to $9.75 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  5. revenue guidance fy · Jul 25, 2019
    3M also affirmed its full-year organic local-currency sales growth guidance to be in the range of minus 1 to plus 2 percent
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  6. eps guidance fy · Jul 25, 2019
    3M maintained its full-year 2019 adjusted earnings expectation to be in the range of $9.25 to $9.75 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  7. eps guidance fy · Apr 25, 2019
    3M expects its adjusted full-year 2019 earnings to be in the range of $9.25 to $9.75 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  8. revenue guidance fy · Apr 25, 2019
    3M also updated its organic local-currency sales growth guidance to be in the range of minus 1 to plus 2 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  9. eps guidance fy · Jan 29, 2019
    Full-year 2019 earnings are now expected to be in the range of $10.45 to $10.90 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  10. revenue guidance fy · Jan 29, 2019
    3M also expanded its full-year organic local-currency growth expectation to a range of 1 to 4 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  11. eps guidance fy · Jul 24, 2018
    3M now expects its adjusted 2018 earnings to be in the range of $10.20 to $10.45 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  12. revenue guidance fy · Jul 24, 2018
    The company maintained its full-year organic local-currency sales growth guidance of 3 to 4 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  13. revenue guidance fy · Jan 25, 2018
    3M affirmed its organic local-currency sales growth expectations of 3 to 5 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  14. eps guidance fy · Jan 25, 2018
    The company now expects 2018 earnings to be in the range of $10.20 to $10.70 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  15. revenue guidance fy · Jul 25, 2017
    The company now forecasts organic local-currency sales growth to be 3 to 5 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  16. eps guidance fy · Jul 25, 2017
    3M expects earnings in the range of $8.80 to $9.05 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  17. revenue guidance fy · Jul 26, 2016
    the company also updated its organic local-currency sales growth guidance to be in the range of 0 to 1 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  18. eps guidance fy · Jul 26, 2016
    3M now expects 2016 earnings to be in the range of $8.15 to $8.30 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  19. eps guidance fy · Oct 22, 2015
    Excluding the announced restructuring charges, 3M now expects earnings will be in the range of $7.73 to $7.78 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  20. revenue guidance fy · Oct 22, 2015
    Organic local-currency sales growth is expected to be in the range of 1.5 to 2.0 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  21. eps guidance fy · Apr 23, 2015
    The company now expects earnings to be in the range of $7.80 to $8.10 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  22. revenue guidance fy · Apr 23, 2015
    3M maintained its forecast for organic local-currency sales growth in the range of 3 to 6 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  23. revenue guidance fy · Jul 24, 2014
    organic local-currency sales growth of 3 to 6 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  24. eps guidance fy · Jul 24, 2014
    The company continues to expect earnings of $7.30 to $7.55 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  25. eps guidance fy · Oct 24, 2013
    The company anticipates 2013 earnings to be in the range of $6.65 to $6.75 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  26. revenue guidance fy · Oct 24, 2013
    3M expects full year organic local-currency sales growth of 3 to 4 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  27. eps guidance fy · Dec 12, 2012
    affirm its 2012 earnings-per-share target of $6.27 to $6.35
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  28. revenue guidance fy · Dec 12, 2012
    organic local-currency sales growth of 2 to 5 percent for the year
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  29. eps guidance fy · Dec 12, 2012
    3M anticipates 2013 earnings to be in the range of $6.70 to $6.95 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  30. eps guidance fy · Jul 26, 2012
    3M maintained its full-year 2012 earnings expectations of $6.35 to $6.50 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  31. revenue guidance fy · Jul 26, 2012
    The company anticipates full-year organic local-currency sales growth of 2 to 5 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  32. revenue guidance fy · Jan 26, 2012
    organic sales volume growth of 2 to 5 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  33. eps guidance fy · Jan 26, 2012
    The company expects earnings to be in the range of $6.25 to $6.50 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  34. eps guidance fy · Jul 26, 2011
    now expects that 2011 full-year earnings will be in the range of $6.10 to $6.25 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  35. revenue guidance fy · Jul 26, 2011
    expectation for full-year organic sales volume growth in the range of 6.0 to 7.5 percent
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  36. eps guidance fy · Dec 7, 2010
    3M also expects that 2011 earnings will be between $5.90 and $6.10 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗

Open promises (0) · 3 superseded

Superseded · revenue guidance fy

full-year total sales growth in the range of 5 to 8 percent

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · eps guidance fy

The company updated its 2019 GAAP earnings expectations to be in the range of $8.53 to $9.03 per share

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Sales growth in the range of 5 to 8 percent

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

IN LINE · Feb 16, 2012BELOW · Feb 11, 2016BELOW · Feb 7, 2019BELOW · Feb 6, 2020WITHDRAWN · Apr 28, 2020WITHDRAWN · Jul 28, 2020IN LINE · Feb 9, 2022
20122022
Timeline as a list
  • Feb 16, 2012IN LINEThe company anticipates sales of $29 billion to $30.5 billion
  • Feb 11, 2016BELOWOn a GAAP basis, including the announced restructuring charges, the company expects earnings will be in the range of $7.60 to $7.65 per share.
  • Feb 7, 2019BELOWThe company now expects its GAAP earnings to be in the range of $9.08 to $9.38 per share
  • Feb 6, 2020BELOWthe company now expects 2019 GAAP earnings to be in the range of $8.25 to $8.75 per share
  • Apr 28, 2020WITHDRAWNWithdraws full-year 2020 guidance due to COVID-19 impact and end-market uncertainty
  • Jul 28, 2020WITHDRAWNGuidance remains withdrawn
  • Feb 9, 2022IN LINEThe company expects reported total sales growth of 7 to 10 percent
5 resolved guidance promises · 36 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →