Promise-keeping streak3 kept in a rowguidance & buyback

TARGET CORP

(TGT)

CIK 27419 · SEC filings only

Not gradedDividend record
shown as history
company entity
67 dividend record entries

Dividend record — shown as history, not graded

A declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise we grade. Here's the record — raises, holds, and cuts — each linked to its source filing.

Dividend record

67 declarations · 18 raised · 44 held · 0 cut · held 62 quarters

  1. RAISED$1.1600/shperiod ended 2026-08-01Filing ↗
  2. HELD$1.1400/shperiod ended 2026-05-02Filing ↗
  3. HELD$1.1400/shperiod ended 2026-01-31Filing ↗
  4. HELD$1.1400/shperiod ended 2025-11-01Filing ↗
  5. RAISED$1.1400/shperiod ended 2025-08-02Filing ↗
  6. HELD$1.1200/shperiod ended 2025-05-03Filing ↗
  7. HELD$1.1200/shperiod ended 2025-02-01Filing ↗
  8. HELD$1.1200/shperiod ended 2024-11-02Filing ↗
  9. RAISED$1.1200/shperiod ended 2024-08-03Filing ↗
  10. HELD$1.1000/shperiod ended 2024-05-04Filing ↗
  11. HELD$1.1000/shperiod ended 2023-10-28Filing ↗
  12. RAISED$1.1000/shperiod ended 2023-07-29Filing ↗
Descriptive dividend record — every entry links to its source filing. Not graded (a declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise). Full methodology →
Not yet gradedBuyback record
harness minimum not met
company entity
2 resolved promises

Sector median (Trade & Services): A+ across 14 graded companies

Not enough resolved promises to grade

2 of the 4 resolved buyback promises needed to publish a reliability grade. Here's what we're tracking — we never show a grade we can't back with receipts.

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved buyback promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Open promises (1)

Open · buyback authorization

The Company expects to resume share repurchases in 2021

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

PARTIAL · Mar 13, 2019PARTIAL · Nov 22, 2023
20192023
Timeline as a list
  • Mar 13, 2019PARTIALIn September 2016, Target’s Board of Directors authorized a new $5 billion share repurchase program.
  • Nov 22, 2023PARTIALTarget's Board of Directors has approved a new, $15 billion share repurchase program
2 resolved buyback promises · resolver resolver-v3 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →
A+Guidance record
grade
company entity
6 resolved promises

Sector median (Trade & Services): A+ across 26 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

9 of 15 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (60%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · basis not stated171016
EPS · GAAP10505
EPS · non-GAAPcannot be graded3012
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded15087

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (25)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. eps guidance fy · Aug 19, 2026
    An updated GAAP and Adjusted EPS guidance range of $9.90 to $10.90
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  2. eps guidance q · Mar 3, 2026
    the company expects Q1 GAAP and Adjusted EPS will be flat to up slightly from last year’s Adjusted EPS of $1.30
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. eps guidance fy · Mar 3, 2026
    GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $7.50 to $8.50
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  4. eps guidance fy · Mar 4, 2025
    GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $8.80 to $9.80
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  5. eps guidance q · Nov 20, 2024
    GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $1.85 to $2.45
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  6. revenue guidance q · Nov 20, 2024
    the Company expects approximately flat comparable sales
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  7. eps guidance fy · Nov 20, 2024
    full year expected GAAP and Adjusted EPS range of $8.30 to $8.90
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  8. revenue guidance q · Aug 21, 2024
    the Company expects a 0 to 2 percent increase in its comparable sales
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  9. eps guidance q · Aug 21, 2024
    GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $2.10 to $2.40
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  10. revenue guidance fy · Aug 21, 2024
    full-year guidance range of a 0 to 2 percent increase in its comparable sales
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  11. eps guidance fy · Aug 21, 2024
    the Company now expects full-year GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $9.00 to $9.70
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  12. eps guidance fy · May 22, 2024
    GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $8.60 to $9.60
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  13. eps guidance q · May 22, 2024
    GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $1.95 to $2.35
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  14. eps guidance q · Mar 5, 2024
    First quarter GAAP and Adjusted EPS are both expected to range from $1.70 to $2.10.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  15. revenue guidance q · Mar 5, 2024
    the Company expects a comparable sales decline of 3 to 5 percent.
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  16. eps guidance fy · Mar 5, 2024
    GAAP EPS and Adjusted EPS are both expected to range from $8.60 to $9.60.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  17. revenue guidance fy · Mar 5, 2024
    the Company expects a modest increase in comparable sales in a range from flat to two percent.
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  18. eps guidance q · Aug 16, 2023
    GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $1.20 to $1.60
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  19. eps guidance fy · Aug 16, 2023
    The Company now expects full-year GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $7.00 to $8.00
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  20. revenue guidance q · Aug 16, 2023
    The Company now expects comparable sales in a wide range around a mid-single digit decline for the remainder of the year
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  21. eps guidance fy · Mar 1, 2022
    high-single digit growth in Adjusted Earnings per Share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  22. eps guidance fy · Mar 1, 2022
    High-single digit growth in Adjusted EPS
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  23. revenue guidance q · Aug 18, 2021
    For the second half of 2021, the Company expects high single digit growth in comparable sales
    Not judged — the company guided on a basis or for a measure that the reported figure we hold does not match.Filing ↗
  24. eps guidance q · Nov 16, 2016
    In the fourth quarter of 2016, Target expects both GAAP EPS from continuing operations and Adjusted EPS of $1.55 to $1.75.
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  25. eps guidance fy · Nov 16, 2016
    The Company expects full-year 2016 Adjusted EPS of $5.10 to $5.30
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗

Open promises (6) · 8 superseded

Open · revenue guidance fy

current trends support the company’s prior guidance for full-year revenue growth in the low- to mid-single digit range

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · eps guidance q

GAAP and Adjusted EPS of $1.90 to $2.60

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

Mid-single digit growth in Total Revenue

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance q

the Company is maintaining its expectation of a low-single digit decline in sales.

unresolved — no outcome on filereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · revenue guidance fy

Full-year net sales growth in a range around 5 percent

resolves in ~153 days$5.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · eps guidance fy

GAAP and Adjusted EPS near the high end of the prior guidance range of $7.50 to $8.50

Superseded · eps guidance fy

GAAP EPS of $8.00 to $10.00

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales growth in a range around 2 percent compared with 2025

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

For fiscal year 2022, the Company expects low- to mid-single digit revenue growth

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · eps guidance fy

GAAP EPS and adjusted EPS are both expected to range from $7.75 to $8.75.

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net Sales growth in a range around 1 percent

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · eps guidance fy

GAAP EPS of $8.00 to $10.00

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

the Company now expects a low-single digit decline in sales

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net sales growth in a range around 4 percent compared with 2025

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

IN LINE · Mar 8, 2017WITHDRAWN · May 20, 2020WITHDRAWN · Aug 19, 2020WITHDRAWN · Mar 2, 2021ABOVE · May 26, 2023ABOVE · Aug 25, 2023ABOVE · Mar 13, 2024IN LINE · Mar 11, 2026IN LINE · Mar 11, 2026
20172026
Timeline as a list
  • Mar 8, 2017IN LINEFor full-year 2016, Target now expects GAAP EPS from continuing operations of $4.67 to $4.87
  • May 20, 2020WITHDRAWNthe Company withdrew its first quarter and full-year guidance
  • Aug 19, 2020WITHDRAWNDuring the first quarter, the Company withdrew its guidance given the unusually wide range of potential outcomes
  • Mar 2, 2021WITHDRAWNthe company is not providing sales and EPS guidance for Fiscal 2021 and beyond
  • May 26, 2023ABOVEFirst quarter GAAP EPS and adjusted EPS are both expected to range from $1.50 to $1.90.
  • Aug 25, 2023ABOVEGAAP EPS and Adjusted EPS are both expected to range from $1.30 to $1.70
  • Mar 13, 2024ABOVEboth GAAP EPS and Adjusted EPS of $7.75 to $8.75
  • Mar 11, 2026IN LINEFull-year GAAP EPS is now expected to be approximately $7.70 to $8.70.
  • Mar 11, 2026IN LINEthe Company is maintaining its expectation of a low-single digit decline in sales
6 resolved guidance promises · 25 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →