Promise-keeping streak3 kept in a rowguidance & buyback

UNIVERSAL HEALTH SERVICES INC

(UHS)

CIK 352915 · SEC filings only

Not gradedDividend record
shown as history
company entity
18 dividend record entries

Dividend record — shown as history, not graded

A declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise we grade. Here's the record — raises, holds, and cuts — each linked to its source filing.

Dividend record

18 declarations · 0 raised · 15 held · 0 cut · held 15 quarters

  1. NOTED$0.2000/shperiod ended 2019-09-30Filing ↗
  2. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2019-06-30Filing ↗
  3. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2019-03-31Filing ↗
  4. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2018-09-30Filing ↗
  5. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2018-06-30Filing ↗
  6. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2018-03-31Filing ↗
  7. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2017-09-30Filing ↗
  8. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2017-06-30Filing ↗
  9. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2017-03-31Filing ↗
  10. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2016-09-30Filing ↗
  11. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2016-06-30Filing ↗
  12. HELD$0.1000/shperiod ended 2016-03-31Filing ↗
Descriptive dividend record — every entry links to its source filing. Not graded (a declared dividend is a reported fact, not a promise). Full methodology →
Not yet gradedBuyback record
harness minimum not met
company entity
0 resolved promises

Not enough resolved promises to grade

0 of the 4 resolved buyback promises needed to publish a reliability grade. Here's what we're tracking — we never show a grade we can't back with receipts.

Pro

buyback history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved buyback promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Open promises (11)

Open · buyback authorization

Pursuant to our $2.7 billion stock repurchase program, which had an aggregate available repurchase authorization of $559.6 million as of March 31, 2021

unresolved — no outcome on file$559.6Mreceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

our Board of Directors authorized a $1.0 billion increase to our stock repurchase program, which increased the aggregate authorization to $3.7 billion

unresolved — no outcome on file$3.7000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

we had an aggregate stock repurchase authorization of $3.7 billion

unresolved — no outcome on file$3.7000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

our Board of Directors authorized a $1.4 billion increase to our stock repurchase program

unresolved — no outcome on file$1.4000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

our Board of Directors authorized a $1.4 billion increase to our stock repurchase program

unresolved — no outcome on file$1.40Breceipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

As of September 30, 2023, we had an aggregate available repurchase authorization of approximately $580 million.

unresolved — no outcome on file$580.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

As of March 31, 2024, we had an aggregate available repurchase authorization of approximately $298 million.

unresolved — no outcome on file$298.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

our Board of Directors authorized a $1.0 billion increase to our stock repurchase program

next filing due$1.0000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

our Board of Directors authorized a $1.0 billion increase to our stock repurchase program

Open · buyback authorization

As of December 31, 2024, we had an aggregate available repurchase authorization of approximately $824.4 million pursuant to our stock repurchase program.

resolves in ~123 days$824.4000receipt (opens in a new tab)
Open · buyback authorization

our Board of Directors authorized a $1.5 billion increase to our stock repurchase program

resolves in ~366 days$1.5000receipt (opens in a new tab)
0 resolved buyback promises · resolver resolver-v3 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →
B+Guidance record
grade
company entity
6 resolved promises

Sector median (Industrial Applications and Services): B+ across 28 graded companies

Resolved promises

Pro

Full say-do history

Free scorecards show the 12 most recent resolved guidance promises. See the complete multi-year record with Pro.

See Pro →

Guidance by basis

8 of 14 guidance figures that were graded or dropped for basis could not be graded on the same basis (57%). Guidance marked “not judged” is in neither number.

Guidance typeSaidGradedDroppedOther
Revenue · basis not stated13607
EPS · non-GAAPcannot be graded9063
EPS · basis not statedcannot be graded4022

Said counts every revenue and EPS guidance figure on record. Dropped counts figures whose period was reported but which have no comparable GAAP actual in SEC XBRL. Other covers open, superseded, withdrawn and otherwise unresolved figures. The coverage note below counts every figure shown but not graded, including figures whose period has not been reported, so it can be larger.

How the site-wide rate is measured

Compare across companies

Guidance shown, not graded (13)

We show what was said — with its source filing — but never score it. The line under each statement says why.

  1. eps guidance fy · Jul 28, 2026
    Adjusted EPS – diluted $22.28 per share $23.65 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  2. eps guidance fy · Feb 26, 2026
    EPS-diluted $22.64 per share $24.52 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  3. eps guidance fy · Oct 28, 2025
    Adjusted EPS – diluted $21.50 per share $22.10 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  4. eps guidance fy · Jul 29, 2025
    Our revised 2025 forecasted Adjusted EPS-diluted is estimated to be $20.00 per share to $21.00 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  5. eps guidance fy · Feb 27, 2025
    EPS-diluted $18.45 per share $19.95 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  6. eps guidance fy · Jul 25, 2024
    Our revised 2024 forecasted Adjusted EPS-diluted is estimated to be $15.40 per share to $16.20 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  7. eps guidance fy · Feb 27, 2024
    Our EPS-diluted range is estimated to be $13.00 per diluted share to $14.00 per diluted share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  8. eps guidance fy · Jul 26, 2023
    Adjusted EPS – diluted $9.85 per share $10.50 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  9. eps guidance fy · Feb 27, 2023
    Our Adjusted EPS-diluted range is estimated to be $9.50 per diluted share to $10.50 per diluted share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  10. eps guidance fy · Feb 24, 2022
    Our Adjusted EPS-diluted range is estimated to be $11.90 per diluted share to $12.90 per diluted share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  11. eps guidance fy · Jul 27, 2021
    Our revised 2021 forecasted Adjusted EPS-diluted is estimated to be $11.46 per share to $12.16 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  12. eps guidance fy · Feb 25, 2021
    Our Adjusted EPS-diluted range is estimated to be $10.05 per diluted share to $11.05 per diluted share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗
  13. eps guidance fy · Feb 27, 2019
    Adjusted EPS-diluted $9.70 per share $10.40 per share
    Unverifiable — company guides non-GAAP; no comparable GAAP actual exists in XBRL.Filing ↗

Open promises (1) · 6 superseded

Open · revenue guidance fy

Net revenues $18.501 billion $18.762 billion

Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Net revenues $18.417 billion $18.789 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Our net revenues are estimated to be approximately $14.044 billion to $14.314 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Our net revenues are estimated to be approximately $15.411 billion to $15.706 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Our 2025 forecasted range of net income attributable to UHS, and EPS-diluted, exclude certain items as described below because we do not believe we can forecast those items with sufficient accuracy. Adjusted EBITDA net of NCI, is a non-GAAP financial measure and should not be considered a measure of financial performance under GAAP. We believe Adjusted EBITDA net of NCI is helpful to our investors as a measure of our operating performance. Please see the Supplemental Non-GAAP Disclosures - 2025 Operating Results Forecast schedule as included herein for additional information and a reconciliation of our 2025 forecasted range of net income attributable to UHS to our 2025 forecasted range of Adjusted EBITDA net of NCI.

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Our revised 2025 forecasted net revenues are estimated to be approximately $17.096 billion to $17.312 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)
Superseded · revenue guidance fy

Our net revenues are estimated to be approximately $12.125 billion to $12.361 billion

revised by a later guidancereceipt (opens in a new tab)

Credibility timeline

ABOVE · Feb 26, 2020ABOVE · Feb 24, 2022BELOW · Feb 27, 2023IN LINE · Feb 27, 2024ABOVE · Feb 26, 2025IN LINE · Feb 25, 2026
20202026
Timeline as a list
  • Feb 26, 2020ABOVENet revenues $11.213 billion $11.361 billion
  • Feb 24, 2022ABOVEOur revised 2021 forecasted net revenues are estimated to be approximately $12.351 billion to $12.502 billion
  • Feb 27, 2023BELOWOur net revenues are estimated to be approximately $13.424 billion to $13.694 billion
  • Feb 27, 2024IN LINENet revenues $14.130 billion $14.330 billion
  • Feb 26, 2025ABOVEOur revised 2024 forecasted net revenues are estimated to be approximately $15.565 billion to $15.753 billion
  • Feb 25, 2026IN LINENet revenues $17.306 billion $17.445 billion
6 resolved guidance promises · 13 not graded (no comparable reported figure) · resolver resolver-v5 · score score-v1. Every verdict links to its source filing. Full methodology →